MERRIE MAID - The story so far
Merrie Maid was built in 1903 by Borwicks on Windermere.
Merrie Maid had a sister launch called Merrie Widow. Both launches were moored in Bowness Bay and
skippers rowed out to the launches in tenders returning to shore to collect up to 12 fee paying
passengers; hence ‘Windermere 12’
Merrie Maid was later discovered in a boat shed on the edge of Windermere in the 1950’s and
bought by Phyllis Nayler, the current owners grandmother.
Merrie Maid then underwent a complete refurbishment at Shepherd’s Boatyard and was re-launched a year later.
Since then she has been under the same family ownership, spending the first 50 years of her
‘Second Life’ being moored in a boathouse in Millerground Bay.
In 2010, after a further, total refurbishment by Maiden Marine she was returned to pristine condition.
Merrie Maid also changed location to be snuggly housed in a boathouse between
Ferry Nab and Storrs Hall and is now in her ‘Third Life’.
Merrie Maid is on the lake every day of the year and, as such, is available to charter throughout the year.
Join us and experience a unique journey on a launch that is elegant and beautiful.
Travel on Merrie Maid to add a little something to the enjoyment of the beauty of the surrounding landscape.